I’m a Gadget fiend!

I know it’s a terribly shallow thing to say, but ever since Minecraft merchandise started appearing, I’ve been envious of those who have been able to lay their hands on such things, be they cuddly toys, LEGO sets, or those cute little plastic figurines. But no more! (Well, less so, at least…)

When I was nosing around in Toys ‘Я’ Us at the Meadowhall Shopping Centre on June 10, I came across a bunch of Minecraft toys of various descriptions. I was on the verge of pouncing on a creeper, when I noticed that there was a cuddly bat available! The bat is my favourite out of all the Jazwares stuffed toys, so I had to find out how much he cost; the price labelling in that area was confusing, so I wasn’t sure if he’d be £4.99 or £9.99. When I learned that £9.99 was the price, I decided that it’d be best if I didn’t bother, especially since I’d already blown over £10 on American food at Gobstoppers in the same visit. But I couldn’t resist for long… and a few minutes later, I’d returned to the shop (at speed) and snagged him 🙂

The tricky part was trying to figure out a name for him; for some unknown reason, I don’t like to leave my cuddlies nameless for long. But the front-runner, Vlad, wasn’t quite doing it for me. Then, I hit upon calling him “Gadget”, because of the sizeable Mojang label on his tush. (In case you aren’t aware, “Mojang” is Swedish for “gadget”.)

So, meet Gadget!

Gadget the Minecraft bat, with his own copy of Minecraft: Pocket Edition.

Gadget the Minecraft bat, with his own copy of Minecraft: Pocket Edition.

That Mojang label *is* rather large...

That Mojang label *is* rather large…

You’ll note in that picture that I also possess Minecraft: Pocket Edition – I bought that a few months ago, but never got around to mentioning it here in the blog. It’s cool, but my heart will always belong to the PC edition 😉

Meanwhile, Gadget’s settling in nicely with the other cuddly toys in my household. Thankfully, I don’t keep lava around, given Minecraft bats’ terminal attraction to the stuff 😉 It’s a bit of a shame that he can’t sit or stand properly, but no matter: I’ve got him leaning up against the right-hand arm of my couch, where some of my other toys sit. Welcome to the family, Gadget! 🙂

Gadget meets some of the other inhabitants of Astra's Sanctuary for Cuddly Animals.

Gadget meets some of the other inhabitants of Astra’s Sanctuary for Cuddly Animals.

This entry was posted in Personal News & Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

