Somebody That I Want to Bite

A little while ago, I was approached by Lydia Winters to write a Minecraft parody of Gotye’s Somebody That I Used to Know. I rather like the rhythm, and thought it’d be an interesting challenge, so I happily said yes. But just as I got started on twiddling with the lyrics, Lydia gave me the first line of the chorus, and told me what she wanted the song to be about: a wolf complaining that she’d been thrown over for an ocelot that Steve had found and tamed… and that just made it!

It didn’t take too long for me to shape the rest of the song to fit Lydia’s premise, and was thrilled and relieved when Lydia told me she loved the lyrics! 😀 And yesterday, Lydia’s music video hit her channel for all to enjoy… I think Lydia and Vu Bui did a great job of singing, and I’d also like to say thank you to those people who said nice things about the lyrics 😀

What you may not know is that I did write the whole song… Lydia loved the second verse, but felt that, overall, the song was too long, and people wouldn’t listen. Not being a YouTuber, I don’t have any idea of what holds people’s attention. But anyway, here’s the full version of the lyrics, in case you feel like seeing it! Oh, and the one below is version 2 – I didn’t like what I’d done with part of the first verse, so I changed it and sent it to Lydia, but it didn’t make it. Ah, well 🙂

[Wolf:]

Now and then I think of when we’d hunt together
I bit the zombies so you didn’t have to die
Thought that I’d be with you constantly
But in the jungle was the end of me
You fell in love and that’s a pain I still remember

Kinda understood when you went solo to The Nether
And there was danger in The End, there in The End
But you’d go hunting and leave me behind
Wish I coulda looked inside your mind
Perhaps I might have had a clue it was over

But you didn’t need an ocelot
When you found her in the jungle I knew I was nothing
And you don’t want my puppy love
So they scare away the creepers, but is that enough?
And you didn’t have to stoop so low
Led me out into the desert and then took my collar
I guess that I will be alright
Now you’re just somebody that I want to bite
Now you’re just somebody that I want to bite
Now you’re just somebody that I want to bite

[Steve:]
Now and then I think of all the times you fell in lava
Part of me believing it was always something that I’d done
You fall in every hole you see
Need a parachute if you’re with me!
Now I don’t wanna have to fight
And you shouldn’t look at me like I’m somebody that you want to bite

[Wolf:]
But you didn’t need an ocelot
When you found her in the jungle I knew I was nothing
And you don’t want my puppy love
So they scare away the creepers, but is that enough?
And you didn’t have to stoop so low
Led me out into the desert and then took my collar
I guess that I will be alright
Now you’re just somebody that I want to bite

Somebody
(I want to bite)
Somebody
(Now you’re just somebody that I want to bite)
Somebody
(I want to bite)
Somebody
(Now you’re just somebody that I want to bite)
(I want to bite)
(That I want to bite)
(I want to bite)
Somebody

This entry was posted in Game and Community News, My Creations, News, Song Parodies. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Somebody That I Want to Bite

  1. IGN: lizardkid9754 says:

    Heard it today, loved it. It was sorta a mix between captainsparklez and Weird Al Yankovic [so basically a pure concentration of parodical skill] Genius, my friend, genius. p.s THAT was Lydia? she has a beautiful voice, truly

    Like

  2. IGN:lizardkid9754 says:

    i like giving compliments when I can tell someone puts work into something and it turns out well. 🙂 good work

    Like

  3. Edje3 says:

    Very cool. I like parodies and I like the lyrics of this one! It gives me a perspective of what my wolf must feel like…….

    Like

Leave a Reply

