A heads-up: Bye for now…

About a week ago, I received another eviction notice from the landlord. This time, however, I’m actually going to leave and become homeless. For one thing, I was fired from my last employer back in January (to an extent, it was thanks to bad record-keeping on their part), and I consequently lost my unemployment benefits. So I have no money coming in (not that there was enough to cover the weekly rent, anyway), and I’ve fallen behind again.

It’s proving exceptionally difficult to find work up here in Connecticut, and although I apparently stand a better chance of finding a job in one of the southern states of the USA, there’s still the issue of having somewhere to live. I had been offered a place to stay by a friend, but that fell through (for understandable reasons). And I don’t want to impose on any of my other friends, online or otherwise, because I can’t afford to pay anything, and there’s no knowing how long it will take for me to find work – assuming that it’s possible for me to find any at all.

In case anyone is wondering, it’s simply not possible for me to stay with Kristal. For a start, she’s living in a tiny camper, essentially homeless herself. If she was in a position to help me out, she would. I can’t get assistance from my immigration sponsors, because they’re not in a position to help (in the case of my ex), or wouldn’t be willing to do so (in the case of my ex-brother-in-law). Getting assistance from the government would require me to become a citizen – $680 to get the process started, and it would take at least a year anyway. And, of course, I can’t go back to England, because flights cost money, and I can’t swim that far >.< The only way to get a free ride out of the USA is to break one of the particular laws which would cause me to be deported – and I have no desire to do that.

The plan as it stands is for me to reduce my belongings to my computer stuff and a few other bits and pieces that I don’t want to get rid of (about enough to fill a holdall), take a one-way trip to Richmond, Virginia, and hand them over to Kristal for safekeeping. Then I’ll find a homeless shelter in the Richmond area, and try to take it from there.

So, basically, I’ll be out of action, Internet-wise, from May 10 for an indefinite period. I’m not deleting my Twitter/G+/Facebook accounts or anything like that – I just won’t be posting, and now you know why. I’ll miss you all – and especially Kristal, of course – but it’s pretty much unavoidable. I’m not asking for anything from anyone, aside from Kristal looking after my stuff. I’ve got myself into this mess, and it’s up to me to get myself out of it. If I can’t, so be it.

This entry was posted in News, Personal News & Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A heads-up: Bye for now…

  1. Ironfruit says:

    I have absolutely know idea what to say other than ‘the best of luck’. You certainly don’t deserve this Astra and I hope you will get through it.

    Like

  2. Bo says:

    ❤ you don't deserve this, I'd give you my birthday money if I could… *hugglez*

    Like

  3. LC98 says:

    Man… I hope you can find work. That’s all I can say… Is there a way anyone could contact you once you’ve moved from Conneticut? Or even more so, you contact us?

    Like

  4. WelshPixie says:

    Eegads. Only just read this. If there’s anything I can do, please let me know :/

    Like

Leave a Reply

