The Minecraft Chorus

Originally published on Scribd, May 30, 2011

An apology to any opera lovers who might be reading this: When I originally wrote this, I was working from an English libretto which bore no relation to the original, and only a partial relation to how the lines were originally written. So, I had too many lines in one place (which I’ve now edited out in this version), and I’ve completely missed out some of the libretto between the first chorus and the second verse >.< The moral of this story is: Work from the original if you can!

The Minecraft Chorus
(“The Anvil Chorus” by Giuseppe Verdi)

I found a stick; I shall fashion a pick
With these three blocks of stone I found in my backpack
I’ll make a mine; it will look truly fine
And then I’ll search for diamonds before I go back

Did I hear footsteps…?
Oh, no! A zombie!

Why did I go alone? There’s no one here to help me!
I cannot mine the gems when there are all these zombies!
Help! Help! Help! Someone please come help!
“They cannot hear you… they cannot hear you…
Come join the zombies!”

I have a sword; at least I won’t be bored
While I fight for my life in this darkened cavern

Here come the zombies…

Why did I go alone? There’s no one here to help me!
I cannot mine the gems when there are all these zombies!
Help! Help! Help! Someone please come help!
“They cannot hear you… they cannot hear you…
Come join the zombies!”

Original libretto by Guiseppe Verdi and Salvadore Cammarano 1853
Parody libretto © Mark A. Cooper 2011

This entry was posted in My Creations, Song Parodies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

