Pistons

Originally published at Scribd on July 8, 2011

I was a lot happier with the outcome of this parody of the mighty Jonathan Coulton’s work than I was with Mr Leather Pants. That said, I was a bit lazy with the words, mainly just tweaking JoCo’s lyrics. Shameful.

Pistons
(“Shop·Vac” by Jonathan Coulton)

We took a minecart out of town
We found a hill to settle down
We killed some skeletons for bones to tame a dog
You built your very own bedroom
I made my very own workshop in the basement

We’re working on knocking down a huge stone wall
We’re carving out a great big hall
Waiting for the day when all the sheep despawn and leave us here

If you need me
I’ll be downstairs
With the pistons
You can call but I prob’ly won’t hear you
Because it’s loud when the pistons run (for Notch’s sake it’s really loud when the pistons run)
But you’ll be okay
‘Cause you’ll be mining
Near the zombies
You could die and I prob’ly won’t hear you
Because it’s loud when the pistons run

There’s coloured wool above the door
Hope someone builds a grocery store
I made an axe for chopping wood out in the yard
But we haven’t got real friends
And now even the griefers have stopped trolling

Maybe if you would look the other way
I’ll die on walkabout some day
Then walk until my hair turns grey ‘cause I forgot to set my spawn

If you need me
I’ll be downstairs
With the pistons
You can call but I prob’ly won’t hear you
Because it’s loud when the pistons run (for Notch’s sake it’s really loud when the pistons run)
But you’ll be okay
‘Cause you’ll be mining
Near the zombies
You could die and I prob’ly won’t hear you
Because it’s loud when the pistons run

I wish I had a workbench better than my current one
‘Cause my current one’s made of wood
I really wanna make a stone one cause it’s hard to burn
It’s hard to make a stone burn

(BRIDGE)

And there’s no place to lay my head
You only built a single bed
I start to wander ‘round the house and in the mine
But we don’t really get sleepy
A mystery for which I possess no answer

And as the night-time comes, the zombies moan
I really hate our Minecraft home
I can’t stand to be alone unless I’m in my favourite place…

If you need me
I’ll be downstairs
With the pistons
You can call but I prob’ly won’t hear you
Because it’s loud when the pistons run (for Notch’s sake it’s really loud when the pistons run)
But you’ll be okay
‘Cause you’ll be mining
Near the zombies
You could die and I prob’ly won’t hear you
Because it’s loud when the pistons run


Original lyrics © Jonathan Coulton 2005-6
Parody lyrics © Mark A. Cooper 2011

This entry was posted in My Creations, Song Parodies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

