Nether Run

Originally published at Scribd on June 13, 2011

Propelled into action as a result of Wes Wilson on The Shaft #37, my Minecraft-based parody of Toto’s classic song “Africa”. Admittedly not one of my better parodies, but there you go.

Nether Run
(“Africa” by Toto)

I hear the picks echoing tonight
But she hears only whispers of some undead conversation
She’s running now in panicked flight
The portal waits to take her to a place filled with damnation
I killed a zombie along the way
Wasting the time that I should use to run – and she gets further from me
And as he fell, he seemed to say: “Hurry, boy, she’s run away from you…”

CHORUS:
It’s gonna take a lot to keep me away from you
There’s nothing that a hundred-creeper mob could ever do
I mined my way to adminium
Gonna take some time to loot the gems we never had

The wild wolves cry out in the night
There’s no bones to tame them – I can’t take them on the journey with me
I know that I must do what’s right
As sure as sulphur and sand will mix up on a workbench to craft some TNT
I seek to cure what’s deep inside, frightened of this thing that I’ve become

CHORUS:
It’s gonna take a lot to keep me away from you
There’s nothing that a hundred-creeper mob could ever do
I mined my way to adminium
Gonna take some time to loot the gems we never had

(Instrumental break)

Hurry, boy, she’s run away from you…

CODA CHORUS:
It’s gonna take a lot to keep me away from you
There’s nothing that a hundred-creeper mob could ever do
I mined my way to adminium
I mined my way to adminium
I mined my way to adminium
I mined my way to adminium
I mined my way to adminium
Gonna take some time to loot the gems we never had

Original lyrics © David Paich & Jeff Porcaro 1982
Parody lyrics © Mark A. Cooper and Brent Copeland* 2011

* … because I totally stole his “I mined my way to adminium” line…

This entry was posted in My Creations, Song Parodies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

