Me House is Alight!

Originally published on Scribd, May 30, 2011

Me House Is Alight!
(“Israelites”, sung by Desmond Dekker & The Aces)

[SLOW VERSE 1]
Wake up every morning, hunting for pigs, sir
So that every wolf can be fed –
Ohhhhhhh nooooooo – me house is alight!

[VERSE 1 & 5]
Wake up every morning, hunting for pigs, sir
So that every wolf can be fed –
Ohhhhhhh nooooooo – me house is alight!

[VERSE 2 & 6]
Did lightning strike, or did someone grief me?
I need some water, ‘cause there’s no sign of rain
Ohhhhhhh nooooooo – me house is alight!

[VERSE 3 & 7]
Wood roof is burned up, it’s nearly gone.
I’ll build the damn thing out of cobble next time!
Ohhhhhhh nooooooo – me house is alight!

[VERSE 4 & 8]
I’m really glad we don’t have tornadoes –
I’ll go and live in The Nether instead!
Ohhhhhhh nooooooo – me house is alight!

[CODA]
Ohhhhhhh nooooooo – me house is alight!
I wonder who I’m building for
Ohhhhhhh nooooooo – me house is alight!
I look a-down and out, sir

Original lyrics © Desmond Dekker and Leslie Kong 1968
Parody lyrics © Mark A. Cooper 2011

This entry was posted in My Creations, Song Parodies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

