Stuck In The Nether With You

In the late hours of Thursday night, I was hanging out with the Minecrap gang on the temp map, while we wait for all the updates we need to continue on the regular one. Rather bored, and not wanting to build anything on a transient map, a couple of song parody lines suddenly entered my head. I promptly said them out loud (since I can’t sing to save my life) – and SatoriLove made a fairly positive comment about them… or at least, I think she did… 😉 So, after much racking of the old grey cells, I came up with the rest of the song!

It’s a parody of the classic Stealers Wheel song “Stuck In The Middle With You” (British people over the age of 30, and anyone who’s seen Reservoir Dogs, will know it). Funnily enough, according to Wikipedia, the original song was a parody of Bob Dylan’s singing style! Anyway, there won’t be a recorded version from me, but if someone like Eric Fullerton or HojjoshMC felt like recording it… feel free 😉

Stuck In The Nether With You

Well, the sky looks like it’s permanent night
I got the feelin’ that somethin’ ain’t right
I’m so scared of minin’ up in the air
And this lava’s burnin’ more than my hair…

Ghasts to the left of me, pigmen to the right –
Here I am… stuck in The Nether with you

Yes I’m stuck in The Nether with you
And there’s not enough resources for two
It’s so hard to keep from running in fear
When those ghasts are screaming right by my ear…

Ghasts to the left of me, pigmen to the right –
Here I am… stuck in The Nether with you

Well, you bought Minecraft at alpha
And you thought that creepers were so bad…
Now you’re dodgin’ all the fireballs
Fallin’ in the lava, yellin’
Please…. Please…..

Tryin’ hard at mining out Netherrack
But I can’t without you there at my back
Take my armour – it’s of no use to me –
And just leave me a grilled pork chop or three…

Ghasts to the left of me, pigmen to the right –
Here I am… stuck in The Nether with you

Well, you bought Minecraft at alpha
And you thought that creepers were so bad…
Now you’re dodgin’ all the fireballs
Fallin’ in the lava, yellin’
Please…. Please…..

Well, the sky looks like it’s permanent night
I got the feelin’ that somethin’ ain’t right
Though The Nether’s now within SMP
No one else goes portal jumping with me…

Ghasts to the left of me, pigmen to the right –
Here I am… stuck in The Nether with you

Yes I’m stuck in The Nether with you
Stuck in The Nether with you.

Original (“Stuck In The Middle With You”) written by Gerry Rafferty and Joe Egan © 1972

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in My Creations. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stuck In The Nether With You

  1. haha,

    I have been penning a few MC related tunes myself of late but this one knocks mine into a cocked hat !!

    Unluckily (or perhaps Luckily for those potential listeners) I cannot hold a note any more than I can hold a bucket of lava with my bare hands so have no plans to release Youtube audio versions 😉

    Keep up the good work

    May the Farce be with you 😉
    Pete.

    Like

  2. Zoshi235 says:

    Curse you. I came up with that title almost as soon as the Nether came out. I only recently made my whole lyric, and today I find out that you’ve alreaady done the same thing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

