SeedMiner – a simple and effective seed library

With the virtually infinite number of landscape-generation combinations available in Minecraft, courtesy of the “seed” feature, there’s a wide array of sites available, showing off some of the best seeds that the community has found. And the theme continues to be popular; Minecraft maven WelshPixie even has “Pixie’s Sunday Seed” on her YouTube channel (though it doesn’t always come out on a Sunday) 😉

Anyway, one of my recent Twitter followers, SeedMiner, alerted me to their website – also called SeedMiner – and asked me if I’d take a look. No harm done, there, because I’ve been hoping to widen my scope for blogging, beyond my beloved little corner of the community. And it doesn’t hurt that I love looking at the various landscapes that Minecraft produces, be they rolling vistas or wild and crazy terrains of the “OMG” variety (or a combination of the two), even if I don’t give myself the chance to try out seeds in my own time.

(Please note! If you’re planning to visit the site before reading the rest of this post, please be advised that, as of the time of writing, some of the language used in the seeds is definitely NSFW!)

The first thing which makes SeedMiner stand out from the other “seed libraries” out there is the creator’s firm adherence to the KISS Principle*. The site has a clean, uncluttered layout, from the front gallery pages to the details pages for the individual seeds. And while the majority of the details pages simply have screenshots, the odd one or two also have videos and/or overhead maps. At the bottom of the page, you can find comments from others, about the landscapes and related topics.

I’m also rather impressed with the submitters’ keen sense of aesthetics: their pictures really convey the majesty of the generated landscapes. These people really know how to take a good screenshot! My personal favourite is “Alex Trebek”: within that landscape, there’s a wonderful area featuring a huge mesa, surrounded by rolling hills and a little lake as a second focal point.

A cute little feature of SeedMiner is the voting system: rather than using a star system, the creator’s gone with Minecraft pickaxes – going from wood for “poor” to, of course, diamond for “awesome”.

What’s perhaps most useful about the site is the submitter-created tagging system – when I had a quick nose around competing sites, I couldn’t find any which used a similar organisational method. Just click on one, and the site will deliver all the matches for your perusal.

So if you’re a bit bored with your current landscape, why not take a look at SeedMiner and see if any of the offerings there tickle your fancy? And if you feel like adding your own discoveries to the library, it’s free to sign up!

* In case you didn’t know, it’s short for “Keep It Simple, Stupid” – a design principle first coined by Kelly Johnson of the Lockheed Skunk Works (source: Wikipedia). Though he didn’t use the comma.

‡ For people not familiar with that name, he’s the host of the popular American game show, Jeopardy.

This entry was posted in Game and Community News, News. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SeedMiner – a simple and effective seed library

  1. crafterjim says:

    hey man thanks for the seedminer link……… I spend more time enjoying others creations that making my own at the moment…… I guess I’m a minecraft tourist 🙂

    Like

  2. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.

    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

    Like

Leave a Reply

